Prof. Hao Rong



In September 2015, the proposal of establishing the World Theatre Education Alliance was put forward by 5 institutes, including The Central Academy of Drama from China, Shota Rustaveli Theatre and Film Georgian State University, Ernst Busch Academy of Dramatic Art from Germany, Toho Gakuen College of Drama and Music from Japan, Department of Theatre of Chuang Ang University from Korea, Kyiv National I. K. Karpenko-Kary University of Theatre, Cinema and Television from Ukraine. Thereafter, the proposal was successively seconded by National Academy for Theatre and Film Arts from Bulgaria, Nord University from Norway, Aleksander Zelwerowicz National Academy of Dramatic Art from Poland, Russian State Institute of Performing Arts, Institut del Teatre from Spain, and Guildhall School of Music and Drama from the UK.

On October 18th, 2016, the first President Conference of Education Alliance was held on Changping Campus of the Central Academy of Drama. 13 presidents of world-famous drama schools from Bulgaria, China, Georgia, Germany, Japan, Korea, Norway, Poland, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine and UK attended the conference.


Declaration of World Theatre Education Alliance was signed and the new Bylaw of World Theatre Education Alliance was deliberated and approved in the conference by 12 institutes. Hao Rong, then vice president of the Central Academy of Drama, was elected as secretary-general of the Alliance with unanimous votes.


From January, 2017 to October, 2019, the Alliance has embraced another 3 member institutes: Russian Institute of Theatre Arts (GITIS) from Russia, Athens Conservatoire Drama School from Greece, and the School of Theatre of Oklahoma City University, USA. Currently, there are 15 member institutes in the Alliance.



copyright 2016 World Theatre Education Alliance